Joining the TA: Officer or Soldier?

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by JayCam, Jun 6, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I had been intending to join the TA as an officer however after reading the "future of TA officers" thread I am starting to think that if I join as an officer I will never actually see mobilisation.. can some TA officers please chime in with regard to this subject. I am starting to think that perhaps I would be better off joining as a soldier. The more I think about this the more confused I become!

2. I'm not an officer, but the rule seems to be as far as mobilisation goes.
    Pte - Cpl, you can tour the world. Officers seem to be able pick up a few tours as well. Its SNCOs that aren't required.

If I'm wrong I'll be corrected I'm sure.
  3. My strong advice is to join as a soldier and serve in the ranks for a couple of years at least. You will have much more fun that way and will learn far more what the TA is about. You should certainly get trade qualified in whatever your unit does and do a couple of Annual Camps.

If your background, qualifications or sheer ability make you an obvious candidate for officer training the Chain of Command are likely to push you that way. However, you should make that decision for yourself and only when you are ready.
  4. Thanks, good advice. I am not joining the TA as a career move, it's for the experience so maybe soldier would be the way to go.. I can always apply for direct officer entry after my 3 years is over no?

5. Opportunities for officers are fairly limited and those that do exist are generally liason and HQ type work, which is all fine if you like being surrounded by very senior people and more likely than not removed from the pointy end of the action.