joining the TA at 36..... ??

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by dispatch1, Jun 2, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. hi
    new to this site so this is my first post. after being very close to joining regs years i go and shitting out at last minute i find myself here. now 36 years old. have a strong mechanical/eng background and am qualified fitness instructor ( although qual is 15 years old now). i am also a time served builder ( fixing mason) of 10 years. i have a spent drunken disorderly conviction from 2004 and have been in no other trouble since 96 when i was 20. i am fit and healthy although have had a very minor asthma complaint about 10 years ago.( packed in smoking and fine since).
    i want to join the TA and would like to apply to 302 commando troop based in bath.

how do my chances sit based on the info given thus far. ?? and how likely and how soon is a tour after training. ??

thanks

2. You should get in the TA somewhere if you are fit enough but don't hang about.

3. Get on with it youngster. Applications close when you're 44...

4. Go for it, you have nothing to loose and everything to gain. :O)

5. chrisg46

chrisg46 LE Book Reviewer

Indeed, go for it. But i suggest the window might be closing if you want a tour to Afghanistan with the scheduled withdrawal in 2014/5.
    I dont know what 302 do, but sounds front line ish so i imagine there will be a lot of build up training anyway before a tour. so you might be looking at two and a half years training from walking in through the door before mobilisation
    If you have no luck with them, you still have 7 Rifles in Swindon and 6 Rifles (plus others) in Bristol.

Good luck fella :)