Joining the Royal Artillery as a woman

Mscherry

Clanker
Hello,
First time posting so hopefully I've posted on the right forum.
So I plan on joining the royal artillery, got to pass selection atm, anyway I'm a she, do women get treated the same as men when doing the jobs? I'm going for the light gunner, just waned to know what's life as a light gunner is like? And I know I can volunteer for the 29 CRA, ive read that only one woman was able to pass the course. So if I get in as a light gunner , can I volunteer straight away after phase 2 or do I have to gain experience ?

Thanks

Are you doing GCSE journalism?

I can't answer your questions because I was an Engineer not an Artilleryman. However what I can say is that you are likely to get a lot of irrelevent and irreverent answers here.

So just stick with it and sort the wheat from the chaff and you might get some answers that will help.

Dread

LE
(Wah shield up) I don't believe the Army will waste time sending another lass on the AACC, however you'll find out the easy way once you join up. You can indicate a preference for 29 Cdo RA as soon as you arrive at Phase 2...

...though if you are not already supremely fit at that stage, and the top of your troop in almost every aspect, be prepared to be laughed at for the rest of your short military career. (Wah shield down).

You'll be treated exactly the same as the blokes, albeit with slightly different timings and weights for events.

The best way to pass the course is to post photos of your tits here. Just in case you a. have any and b. are stupid enough to do it.

theoriginalphantom

MIA
Book Reviewer
I, just for a laugh, am going to be serious for a moment. (stop sniggering at the back)
having spent several postings and a couple of tours with Artillery I can confirm that you'll be treated just like any other woman in any other work place. A lot of it will depend on how you behave, act like a pillock and you'll be treated like a pillock.