Joining the Reserves at university?

Has anyone got any information/personal experience on what it would be like to be in the reserves while at university.

Cheers.
I have. I joined a local infantry battalion as a Private soldier instead of going the OTC route. I would highly recommend it - particularly if you have aspirations for future service.

I have. I joined a local infantry battalion as a Private soldier instead of going the OTC route. I would highly recommend it - particularly if you have aspirations for future service.
Cheers for the reply.
I've passed the AOSB and will be going to Sandhurst after university, and as I have no past experience, learning all I can about the Army is key for me. Would you say that studying and being in the reserves are not mutually exclusive?
I know the OTC is based around studies but I would have no problem missing a few nights out/social events if it means I can spend time in the reserves progressing more than I would in the OTC.

Thanks for the reply

Cheers for the reply.
I've passed the AOSB and will be going to Sandhurst after university, and as I have no past experience, learning all I can about the Army is key for me. Would you say that studying and being in the reserves are not mutually exclusive?
I know the OTC is based around studies but I would have no problem missing a few nights out/social events if it means I can spend time in the reserves progressing more than I would in the OTC.

Thanks for the reply
Indeed - and it is a lot easier to be a student in the Reserves than it is to have full-time employment and be in the Reserves.

Whilst I wasn't at uni, I was in the TA as a Tom when I was studying for my A levels at college - Royal Signals and then Devon and Dorsets.

Not only did it give me valuable beer tokens it gave me a depth of experience for when I joined the Regulars that others in my squad didn't have.

Go for it!!

Cheers for the reply.

Thanks for the reply