Army Rumour Service

Register a free account today to join our community
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site, connect with other members through your own private inbox and will receive smaller adverts!

Joining the IG/HCAV

jack.s

Swinger
I'm in my final year of law at uni in Ireland at the moment, hoping to go into the Irish Guards or the Household Cavalry after (I must confess I like drinking more than I like horses).
Is there still a system whereby candidates that interest the regiments or corps can get sponsorship through Sandhurst from the particular regiment, or is it all a gamble as to where you end up?
I'm considering delaying Sandhurst a year and doing a masters, just wondering is there any point on having a postgraduate degree coming into the army or would I be mad to take on extra student loans?
Also if anyone in the know could tell me what the morale of those units is like right now that'd be much appreciated, as of yet they haven't ended up on FYB so that's a good sign.

For various reasons, I've spent quite a lot of time with the IG recently. They're a top bunch of lads and all round good eggs.

Without answering your specifics, I'd note the following:

All the YOs I spoke to had been "confirmed Cadets" - i.e. the IG had said they were taking them even before going to RMAS. This came from their visits to the Regiment and conducting YO days and such like. A couple had extensive links with the IG (brothers, cousins, fathers in the Regiment), not so much the others.

They were at pains to point out the IG were different to the Grens, Coldstreamers, Jocks and Taffs. If you're in doubt, I'd suggest that you visit them all to find out about each.

Morale seemed high, although they are on PD at the moment, and all the faff associated with that.

The vital first step is to get in contact with the Regimental Recruiting Team; nothing else on here will help beyond that ground truth.