Joining the Canadian Army/Navy!

Discussion in 'Canada' started by hawky94, Oct 30, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

I'm a recent high school graduate over here in the Great White North.

I'm currently working two jobs, and have had the idea of joining the Canadian Army or Navy in the back of my mind for some time now. As, after having a chat with my Father, he suggested that I need some kind of life experience, and I've looked at volunteer networks in Europe, as an alternative. But, they have so far come up dry.

I've been on the CF Recruiting Website and have looked at two positions that interest me, the role of a Public Affairs Officer, and the occupation of a Social Work Officer. I plan to go into a recruiting office on November 1st and discuss my options with a Recruiter.

I am currently not a Canadian citizen, but hold a valid British passport, and, due to the SLOW immigration process, I do not have a Social Insurance Number. I've been wondering whether the Forces might be able to somehow expedite the immigration process, which has now been going on for almost SEVEN years. It's frustrating as all hell.

We have moved house twice (just up the street, not out-of-province or anything), and we think that perhaps the paperwork was sent to the wrong address and the current occupants just didn't forward the paperwork. We've made countless phone calls to CIC, with the only response being that I'm "on a list."