joining ta

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Bobby-Dazzla-82, Apr 26, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi to all, newbie here joined site to get info on ta etc, currently working in construction but joining local TA unit, my mate is ex guardsman, and the only advise he can give me is - Get used to being called a crow bag!!!!

2. yea probly i can do monging quite well

3. My first question - why are you thinking of joining up?

4. What county are you in, and what unit are you looking to join?

5. Want to do my bit I suppose always wanted to join regs but I think 30 is a bit old now

6. English mate looking to join 4 Mercian if I pass the entry requirements

7. I've been a proud STAB for 26 years ( plus 5 in regs ) , go for it, just ignore the politics which unfortunately creeps in, don't worry about yer age I'm 49 and can beat most of the new ones at phys in our unit, been on ops a few times and can soldier along with the younger lot wether STABs or regs plus STABs and regs get on together now ( even on here ) ( most of the time )
    Just have a sense of humour, train hard in yer free time, volunteer for competitions and do stupid stuff - I sparred with some Marines last year-got beaten to fcuk but did me best against bods half me age, oh and the extra dough comes in handy as well-good luck

8. Cheers mate I'm gunna smash it as much as poss

9. First up, good on you for thinking of going for it. I'm ex-London Regt (did six years with them), and have no regrets whatsoever. At the risk of telling you stuff you already know, bear in mind the following.