Joining TA whilst at University

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Scotty1, Aug 2, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello Arrser's!

I am currently in my second year of a four year degree and I have started to think about joining up with the regulars when I graduate. I have had no previous military experience but would like to do something useful with my last two years (a part of course from study and drinking ;) ) I'd like a feel for military life and my hope is that it'd give my application a bit more credibility when/if I decide to go fulltime.

I have considered the OTC and whilst it sounds grand, I'd rather be doing a real job. Also being a second year, joining a group of freshers isn't all that appealing. In regards to deployment, what are the chances and could a deferment be made until I graduate etc?

I am also still learning to swim (well, thats pending!) is that a problem for recruitment? My local area TA are either Sigs, Infantry or Medical (the former two more likely then the latter) would swiming be a necessity? I am also looking at possibly the Int Corp when I graduate, would serving in a different trade as TA be a help or hinderance if I go fulltime later on? (With study, I am not to keen on travelling the 2 1/2 hours down to my nearest Int TA section at least one weekday and most weekends)

Thanks for any help you can offer!

2. msr

msr LE

3. Thanks msr!

4. msr

msr LE

If you tell us which Uni, the you may get some good advice on which local unit to join.

My recommendation is inf.

msr

5. but you are misguided and a loon. armour, my boy, armour.