Joining TA ...looking at joining as a Reg Officer eventually

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by goldy, Dec 15, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi there, first of all I'm new to the board - my name is Tom or Goldy, whichever.

I'm in my first year of A-Levels, just turned 17 and have always been interested in a career in the Army for as long as I can remember. Been on various 'taster' courses over the last few years while at school with The Royal Engineers, the Signals etc. and I've established a firm interest in hopefully joining the signals as an officer in the regular Army.

I've been scouting around doing various bits of research, and I'm currently looking into joining the TA whilst doing my A-Levels, then after looking at the possibly of the joining Full Time as an officer in the regular Army. Yes, I appreciate that the majority of officers are graduates and a fair bit older than I would be if I were to join after my A-Levels around the age of 19 but I'm confident it's what I want to do, and I've read around that 85% of officers are graduates, albeit 15% is a small percentage, but whats to say I couldn't do it?

My Local TA centre is Burton-on-Trent and it is the Royal Mercian Regiment who are infantry I believe, but they do have opportunities for Signallers I have been told. So I'm thinking of getting the ball rolling with that.

I just wanted some advice really, I'm confident I want a full time Officer career in the military, but I want to join the TA to establish for sure that it is 100% what I want to do. Then hopefully after having some experience as a soldier in the TA it will put me in good stead for the officer training and a career thereafter.

Any advice would be hugely appreciate on what you feel the steps I should take.

2. Sounds like you've got it sorted there to be honest mate,