Joining REME

Discussion in 'REME' started by nokk79, Apr 20, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi

Last year i completed a BEng Electronic degree but i gained a third and now i'm having trouble getting a job.
    I've been thinking about joing the REME as a tech but which tech trade is best? i'm also 27 years old not getting any younger and want a career, also does anyone know if i could skip basic traing as im a L/cpl in the T.A. Infantry?
  2. You really need to get yourself to a careers office!!
    I would suggest with 3 degrees (sounds like a cue for a song!!) you may want to think about a commision....not sure about the age rules though.
    Good luck.
  3. Sympathetic_Reaction

Sympathetic_Reaction LE Book Reviewer

I think you may have miss understodd that 'third' bit..;)

But seriously you may want to try for a commission, though as you say you are a bit old, can't remember what the age limit at sandhurst was when I went, but it was high 20's.

The other option I would suggest is the Navy, I think you can still join as an engineering petty officer without the boring bit of working your way up the's a bit of a wierd setup which i never understood.

As the man says, get down to a careers office and ask there, they know all the options, and usually you will find all 3 services in one building.

4. There is lots of info on tech trades if you look through this forum. Your age does not matter for either the Officer or OR routes and you can have a full career. You really need to visit you local ACIO who can give you some informed advice on which route you may be suited to. Once you are armed with which options are available to you come back and seek advice on specific trades.