Joining Regular Army From TA

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by evo7scotsman, Jan 17, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am a Class 2 Vehicle Mechanic in the TA and I want to join the regular army.
    Do any of the Golden Hello things apply to me?
    Is there anything you can do in the TA that means you dont have to do basic training all over again?
    Cheers guys

Chris

2. Good luck to you fella, I made the jump back in '99. If you love the TA you won't regret it!

I went all the way through Basic with my Troop. Some Corps used to allow ex-TA to join after Week 5. I personally found it much better to start from the beginning and get to know the lads and lasses from scratch. If you were to start at later on, friendships are already formed, you have the measure of your DS and they know about you. If you were to turn up halfway through you'd be an unknown quantity and I get the feeling people would be a bit wary of you.

Half the fun of Basic is the lads and lasses you'll meet and the friendships you'll strike up. Plus, you may risk the stigma of being "that TA bloke that turned up and never did all of Basic...."

Doesn't really answer your question, but my two p's worth!...... You could always do an S type (FTRS?) engagement, but if you're young enough and want to make a full career of it, bite the bullet, accept you're going to be back at Day 1 Week 1, grit your teeth and enjoy!

TCS