Joining RE

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by slopster, Aug 24, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi - I've been serving for 6 years in the New Zealand army as a field engineer. Had plenty of good times etc but I've still not been on any trips overseas mainly because our labour government isn't too keen on sending many people overseas - getting deployed is a rarity. I'm seriously looking at joining the Brit army and hopefully getting a few trips. Had a good look on the army website and its pretty informative but when I emailed recruiters specific Q's they were pretty lazy and just sent me cut and paste info I'd already read on the website. Far as I can tell I can apply as a commonwealth citizen from NZ but its a complicated process and I need sponsors in UK. I'm thinking it would be easier to just fly over there with a working holiday visa, see the recruiters in person and find myself a job for a few months while the selection process happens. I'm guessing I'll probably not keep my rank. Possibly even have to go back to basic training but that doesn't worry me. I'm looking at coming over about March or April 09 after leaving NZ army.

Couple of questions for anyone who is serving or recently served in RE:
    How long did the selection process take from when you applied to when your application was accepted?
    Do you decide what RE trade you want to do before you join, or after some time with the engineers, or do they decide for you?

Any other advice would be appreciated
  2. You could try talking live to a recruiter
    the live chat is open 12pm - 10pm weekdays UK time