Joining late

Hi guys,

I'm 29 and considering a career in the army. I'm in the best shape I've ever been and am mentally strong so am not worried about selection although I'm sure it's tough. The problem is my circumstances. I'm married, have a young daughter and a mortgage to pay.

We have a good life and I know people will think I'm crazy but I've wanted to be in the army since I was a boy. I allowed myself to be talked out of it and enjoyed a lot of traveling working as a chef for the last ten years. But I've never shaken the feeling that I'm not doing what I should be doing.

My wife says she's ok with it but I'm sceptical. I was wondering if you guys had met other late joiners and what their experiences were like? My daughter is too young to be affected. (Not in school yet).

I also wondered about job roles. I'm a capable chef and have worked in some well respected restaurants but I'm looking to draw a line under that time in my life. Cooking lost its appeal to me a while back and I'd like to do something different. Joining and then being assigned to the kitchen would be torture.

Cheers guys.

Last edited:
Have a search, plenty of threads covering this topic, unfortunately you will have attracted the rath of the duplicated thread topic gestapo, so expect incoming!

As you're here, no problems joining late, plenty do, it's more about you and your character/fitness.

If you want a complete change, what do you like/fancy doing. As I am now a civvy in construction, I would recommend getting a trade. Sparky, chippy, brickie etc, but for all I know, you may just fancy driving a tank for 3 years!

Edit; Just noticed you have put this in the Brexit forum, you have failed the first stage of application, The Arrse paper sift.

Do it, sounds like you'll regret it otherwise.

Don't go for chef though if you already have that skill. Have a look at Ammunition Technician.

The last chef that came across to us was awarded a George Cross.

jim30

LE