joining from commonwealth? advice pls

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by dilshan, Oct 13, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Okay, I am from Sri Lanka and wish to join the British army as a soldier.
    I am currently in my 2nd year of BSc computing, British university

I always wanted to wear a uniform and hate office jobs. However my goal is to join the FFL someday.. i hope i'd get a better chance of joining them after a period of service in the British army.

So please enlighten me on the chances i would have... Would I have any advantage with my DipHE(BSc 2nd year..) CCNA and CCNP? Or would it be better if i come with my degree?
    Physically I am well fit i think with a little bit of belly fat which i am going to get rid of lol. Although I can not swim :D , going to learn it though

and finally, do they pay your parents some cash if you die in the battlefield? maybe insurance or something?

Why i don't join the SL army is that, the pay is low(ok i am not patriotic, fine), and chances are very very limited.

Please dont hate me lol....

thank you, have a nice day!

2. I think that this guy can answer all of your questions:-
    London_native

3. A few questions, if I may :

1) How long have you lived here, and are you on a British passport?
    2) What job choice/Trade are you interested in, in the British Army? (Some are A-Level/Degree dependant)
    3) You will have some kind of insurance, but you'd have to discuss that with someone once you're in the army (you're right, this isn't a question)
    4) Have you spoken to an Army Recruitment Officer yet?

If not, I would strongly suggest it.