Army Rumour Service

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Joining as an Officer in 30’s

Hi all,

Looking for some general advice and opinions on re-joining the Army as an Officer in my 30’s (I’m 31 now but will be 32 when starting at Sandhurst). I have previously served in the R Sigs for 6 years and left to go to uni. I graduated last year and since bagged a graduate job but it is beyond mundane. I can’t see myself doing this job for the rest of my working life and as a result, I have decided to rejoin. I’m hoping that it would be as fun and rewarding a career that I previously experienced. I’ve so far passed my medical and received an age waiver from the R Sigs Corps Colonel which has effectively given me confirmed cadetship to join the Corps after Sandhurst. I’ve now got a date for AOSB briefing and I’m currently preparing for that.

What I’m looking for then is what do those serving think about joining at this age? Would you recommend it? Would the experience be as enjoyable as if I had have joined as an Officer at a younger age? Is being a Junior Officer at my age worth the gruelling year at Sandhurst? Is my age going to affect my potential Army career either positively or negatively?

A lot of my former Army colleagues have either left or are about to leave and say the day to day running of the Army (or more likely just the Corps) is one of the main reasons causing them to do so. Is now really not a good time to join or are they possibly guilty of the usual chimfing and thinking the grass is greener? I imagine the next Defence Review might be a better answer for that last question!

Cheers in advance for any responses!

M

You may find the reserves a better fit for your age profile.