Joining AAC with fixed wing ATPL?

Discussion in 'Aviation' started by stab23, Jan 2, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello,

I'm a civvie fixed-wing pilot (CPL/IR/ME). Before getting into aviation, I did a SSC with the slime, then five years in the TA infantry.

Given all the "overstretch" I recently went back to the TA to ask about rejoining as a squaddie, but apparently at 42 I am considered "too old" for infantry selection.

I therefore wondered if my quals might be any use to AAC? I know that civvie pilots are crap, AAC is inundated with candidates, and AAC TA recently disbanded etc. But I have a fair bit of time on Islanders and King Airs, and the cost of training me in AAC procedures/tactics on (say) King Air is likely to be small compared to training an ab-initio pilot. I already have a reasonable idea how to do all the soldiering part of the job. Is this worth a shot? I'd happily rejoin full time if there was a path within the system to do this.
  2. At that age I don't think you will stand a chance, sorry old boy!
  3. Unusual age, yes, but in some ways it is an advantage. I've been around the block, I know I can hack it, I would bring experience from other areas of my career that a youngster would not be able to offer. I am still fitter than most youngsters too (anyone fancy a cross-country skiing race?) If I had an Australian passport I could join the Australian Army Aviation service as aircrew up to age 49!

So why do we exclude candidates older than 26? A fair few of them join just to get the hours for a civvy flying career, whereas I am motivated because I love the army and am bringing with me my civvy hours and qualifications.