Joing 23 SAS(R) - Further questions

Discussion in 'The ARRSE Hole' started by TheOtter, Mar 19, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,
    I am a new user to this site and have a few questions regarding joining the 23 SAS.
    Firstly i have read all the other posts and threads i could find on this site (so dont think im being lazy). From what i gather other people have mainly been focused on the fitness side of it, but i have a few concerns a little more specific to my background. i include a little of my background because i think it is important...

Me: i am a Civilian, i did a degree in manchester in chemistry and am currently doing a PhD, i am 22, i grew up in the pennines . i have a girlfriend of 4 years
    Y do i want to join: i have always had the utmost respect for anyone (no matter what they did), in serving/fighting for their country and i believe no man is on the same level until they have done the same... i want to do my bit as much as i want the challenge
    My experience of TA/UKSF(R): I have always been interested, i have read immediate action by A Mcnab, and recently as reccommended by this site A quiet soldier by A billinger ( i especially liked this book because our backgrounds are similar), i enjoyed them both (only as a good read not a fact finding excercise), i know where my nearest 23 SAS base, i have not spoke to the yet.
    i willl not be joining (if i decide to do so) for at least 2 years, mostly because my Phd takes roughly 55 hours a week of my time, but also because i need training.
    Questions: does anyone know of a person that has joined from a similar background to mine? Realistically can a person do this with a non militiary background? is 2 years long enough to train? any other advice guys?

Thanks for your time,

2. Sort the spelling out mate, you're meant to be a PhD student, not a mong.