It's either a slow news day, or

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by Mr_Fingerz, Aug 2, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Mr_Fingerz

Mr_Fingerz LE Book Reviewer

HMRC are getting their retaliation in for the shite PR that they've been getting in the past few days (HMRC Chairman had to apologise for their appalling levels of "customer service")

BBC News - Customs raids target shops selling counterfeit alcohol (c) Auntie

They were having "pilot projects".

When I did that for a living, such raids happened on at least a weekly basis, with the same sort of results (large volumes of Duty Suspended beer going for animal feed, non-counterfeit spirits being disposed of to the benefit of the treasury, and smuggled/counterfeit fags being burned in incinerators (not in single controlled fires)).

The local cops and trading standards people would be involved too.

And very occasionally the left hand of the Dept would talk to the right and a VAT visit might happen at the same time, and the light side might talk to the dark and a direct tax visit happen.

Sometimes it's good to see the wheel being reinvented.
  2. Liked the light side (Customs) and the dark side (Revenue) mentions Mr Fingerz!!
    Still in use!!
    Joined 1972 -1 year to do!!
  3. Nice to see another prime example of how our new immigrant community are enriching our country !
    snip = Some 16 premises, several of them international stores owned by foreign nationals, had alcohol or cigarette licences revoked or suspended.
  4. HMRC, the 'love child' of the failed and unlamented oaf Brown, is a total shambles.

Poorly paid staff; poorly led staff - sorry delete 'led'; insert 'managed' - a maze of rules and regulations that would defy the combined efforts of Einstein and Turing to understand.