It's 100 years ago and you live where you live right now...

Copying a discussion on another forum. It's 1919 and you live in the area that you live in now. You've survived WW1 of course but possibly you have a sore throat and a bit of a cold coming on. What's your life like and what problems do you face.

If I survived the war in Europe I've been demobbed very quickly. Maybe I got wounded at Passchendaele or something and got a medical discharge. That aside I'm home in Tipperary and The Irish War of Independence kicked off last month when a group of Republicans killed two policemen just 15 miles from my home. I don't know any of the men who the police are looking for but rumour has it that a local boy named Paddy Aherne was involved somehow. There are a lot of Republicans living in my area and as an ex British soldier I will almost certainly have to join the IRA when it comes into existence in the near future or be regarded as a loyalist at best, or a spy at worst. That's enough to get me killed around here. Quite likely I'll be done in by a man whose grandson will be a good friend of mine in 2019. Or by my own grandad or a great uncle. If I survive that war I'll have to pick a side in the Civil War in 1922. Given where I live I have a good chance of going anti-Treaty. Fúck it but there's no end to this shite.

So what's going on with you?

Ravers

LE
Kit Reviewer
Book Reviewer
I have a few pre WW1 photos of my house.

**** all has changed really.

Apart from having less cars and more horses, I imagine my life is pretty similar to be honest. Our farm (and all the others round here) in 1919 is obviously less reliant on machinery, but the general gist of it is much the same. I still shoot in the same places and with the same guns, except they’re new now. There are more pubs in my village in 1919.

Things are probably better truth be told.

5A0D205E-F207-46D9-89AC-4E5C820F00D9.jpeg
813E934E-E20B-4F58-89E9-64D57A8EE91A.jpeg
31A49029-6FFC-43D7-940C-12C64A926447.jpeg