ITDs/MATTS Creating a Three Tier TA

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Krettin, Jan 16, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Apparently my Regt is trailing the new MATT system, Military Annual Training Tests.

As I understand it, and I am the first to admit that I am not a MATT expert, the tests are divided into three tiers based upon a regiment’s operational readiness. The higher the level the more work you have to do.

My regt, RAC, fits in to the cat 2 readiness which means to pass my shooting test I have fire at a 25m range and get a zeroed group of:
    60mm prone
    70mm sitting
    80mm squatting/kneeling
    140mm standing.

So what I am asking the wider TA Arse community is:

1. Anyone come across MATTS
    2. Is this really all I had to pass ITD
    3. What do you think of this new system. Personally I think its barking

I am concerned that this is another way for the MoD/Treasury cutting costs by cutting our range time. The actual ITD shoot took less than 30 minutes.
  2. msr

msr LE

Does this mean there will be three levels of bounty?

3. While you are right about the three tiers they are as follows:

Level 1: Regular Army Units is all commands, individuals deployed on enduring Ops, TA Units and individuals warned for Ops, TA individuals serving full time with Regular Army Units, Staff at training establishments, Individuals in deployable roles.

Level 2: The TA not warned for Operations and not at level 1 or 3.

Level 3: Individuals in non-deployable HQ roles (eg MOD, LAND) and non-deployable Units (eg ACIO).
  4. Shirley these group sizes cannot be correct... a 60mm group at 25m equates to 240mm at 100m; 720mm (almost 2 and a half feet!) at 300m!

No wonder the shoot took less then 30 minutes, can't imagine even the biggest Pte McFcuknuts needing to re-shoot :roll: