ITBS (Iliotibial band friction syndrome)

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Sorridstroker, Jun 1, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I have been running for 8 - 10 months now and have a good basic fittness level, I can run 13 - 15 miles relatively easily.

However two weeks ago half way round the run I experienced fairly bad pain in the side of my right knee, I completed the run as the pain seemed to come and go and wasn't too bad.
    The day after however the pain was much worse and very noticable when going downstairs, so I stopped running and rested up these last two weeks thinking I had simply tweaked a nerve or something.

Went out today for the first time as my knee seemed much better, however after only a mile the pain was back so I stopped and walked home rather depressed.
    I have been reading up on my symptoms on runners world and I suspect it may be ITBS, that said I will be booking an appointment with a sports therapist tomorrow to get a professional diagnosis.

I was just curious to know if anybody has/is suffering from this ailment and what works well to relieve symptoms, I appretiate I have at least a month of stretching and R.I.C.E ahead of me - and that really is depressing me at the moment as I was doing so well to achieve my own personall fittness goals.

Will this stop me from cross training as in swimming or cycling?

2. If you could continue running then in all probability it was not ITBS

Give me 10 minutes to dig a link up

Here you go

The coming down the stairs problem reminds me of an injury but I can't remember which one, Runners World is the best place to go for advice, I post on there also.

ITBS is usually caused by incorrect running shoes, you know about over/under pronation and different gaits right ?