Is the Geneva Convention fit for purpose?

Cold_Collation

LE
Book Reviewer
I'm posting this off the back of the Al Blackman thread, as the point has come up that the GC seems to increasingly being applied to non-uniformed combatants - what we used to be allowed to call 'terrorists'.

I'm not for repealing the Convention. I feel that while there is a case for meeting fire with fire, and doing things that are understood by often barbaric opponents, there is also a case that we need to preserve our own morals and humanity.

But have we reached a point where political considerations are clouding the language and intent? Are the sharks in the legal profession skewing the honourable intentions of the GC, other conventions and, indeed the statute books? Is this an ideological thing, or is it profiteering?

Thoughts?

I think it needs looking at, especially as it becomes more conflicts seem to be engaged under these conditions. I am not an expert and there are far more learned individuals than me on here. From what I saw of the Blackman video he deliberately killed an individual, however if he shouted GRENADE or left the bloke to bleed out he would have been fine.

The other issue is that you have to treat an individual as a civilian even if you know that the individual was trying to put a round through you 10 minutes earlier.

Now is this a subject for theatre ROE or a substantial change to the GC I don't know.

**** Blackman, hes yesterdays news, the Convention needs to scrap the rules that officers dont have to do manual work in captivity, the lazy cnuts.

chrisg46

LE
Book Reviewer
**** Blackman, hes yesterdays news, the Convention needs to scrap the rules that officers dont have to do manual work in captivity, the lazy cnuts.
But then the whole "Don't call me Sir, I work for a living" comes into dispute. Imagine the outrage of generations of NCO's...

Is there actually such a thing as THE Geneva Convention?

I thought we now talked about the ‘LAWS of Armed Conflict’?