Is Russian military a paper tiger?

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by KGB_resident, Jan 28, 2009.

1. Army that I prefer not fight against

2. Average army but with nukes

3. Rather agree with the statement

4. Quite close to it

5. Absolutely agree

6. No, it is a paper cat no more

7. One of the best armies in the World

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

I suspect that according to 'the thinkers' British army is a lion in his best shape.

Well, may I ask you. Taking into account your own experience, information provided by mass media, free press and so on, how do you estimate Russian military?

Thanks in advance.
  2. I've no great knowledge of the army, but the navy is in a shocking state. The Northern Fleet has 13 major surface units, but based on what I've seen over the last five years only three destroyers, two cruisers and the carrier ever go anywhere. Th ships on order - one destroyer and 4 light frigates, don't look much either. The NF subs are a little better, but out of 14 SSN/SSNG and six SSK's, only the one Oscar II and six Akulas in service are any good. The whole fleet with a couple of exceptions will be past its date by 2020, so it will only get weaker.

Overall with regard to the Navy, I'd have to agree with the think tank - a few good Soviet left-overs still around, but no where near enough mass to pose a real threat to anyone on the high seas.
  3. The Russians are making a big effort to bring their Army up to scratch and re-equip. Watch out, watch out!
  4. In the West's dreams maybe it is - but, why has the Russian 'defence' budget risen by a factor three in the last three years?

"War to the hilt between communism and capitalism is inevitable.