Is it time for a World/International Police/Gendarmes/Armed Force?

BuggerAll

LE
Kit Reviewer
Book Reviewer
Apologies for the slightly long winded title.

I'm studying the Law of Armed Conflict (LOAC) and International Humanitarian Law (IHL) in prep for a course.

One of the papers I read posited a future international police or armed force to enforce international law. I thought it is an interesting idea.

It is very difficult to enforce international law.We all know the issues with using western forces. Reluctance of nations to get involved. Accusations or neo-colonialism etc. The problem of non-western forces is a combination of shambolic performance and unacceptable tactics and strategies.

Is there a space for a Gendarme force trained and equipped to western standards capable of deploying to the worlds hotspots on peace enforcement and peace support ops?

I liked Tom Clancy's solution of solving the Palestine problem by deploying the Swiss Guard ;)

Join the Army in the UK and spend your time arresting women drivers and atheists in Saudi Arabia? No thanks.

BuggerAll

LE
Kit Reviewer
Book Reviewer
Join the Army in the UK and spend your time arresting women drivers and atheists in Saudi Arabia? No thanks.
The international force I was thinking of would recruit from all over the world. You wouldn't have to join it if you don't fancy the job it does.

I think they might need to concentrate on getting a National one to work properly first. Police Scotland are a prime example of an immense cluster.

These sort of ideas always come down to budget. Nobody will pay for it without any obvious benefit to their country, people and values. And why would they?

Glad_its_all_over

ADC
Book Reviewer
Yeah, budget - and the key decision, of course, who would command, who would task and to whom would such a force be responsible.

Yeah, budget - and the key decision, of course, who would command, who would task and to whom would such a force be responsible.