Is it selfish to volunteer for a Tour?

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Charlie_Cong, Dec 1, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm an ex-regular officer now joining the TA, aware that volunteering for a tour has become relatively common. Thinking medium term I'll probably change careers in the next 12 - 18 months and would certainly consider volunteering for a tour between jobs.

My question is "How did / do you reconcile volunteering with family?"

For me while in the regulars it wasn't really an issue. I was skiing when I got the call for TELIC. I can honestly say, and I know this is pretty sad, it was one of the happiest days of my life. I was f ucking overjoyed - My mates had all been, and I hadn't.

Feigning a mature attitude I came out with all the good calls I'll be with the Jocks I've spent the last year with, bloody good regiment, more chance of getting hit by a bus.....

And ultimately, I had the great get out clause of Well, I've got to go.

Since then I've become a lot less casual about it. After three mates were killed in Afghanistan and Iraq I properly realised that it isn't a game.

When I went to Sandhurst in 2000 it was different. I could honestly say to friends and family that they needn't worry. Back then a six month tour involving eight pipe bombs and a malfunctioning RIRA Mk 15 was considered pretty warry. Strange, eh?

Being a bit older and maturer now, and realising that Afghanistan and Iraq are "playing for keeps" I realise the stress that you put your wife / girlfriend / children under, for months at a time.

I still want to go, motivated partly I admit by a crude sense of adventure, but I know that choosing to go is, in a way, incredibly selfish.