Is it possible to start the appointment process but defer entrance to sandhurst till end of my degree?

Hi, sorry if this has been asked before
I'm currently completing my final year of university and am interested in joining the army when I leave. However due to some medical reasons I'm unsure if I'll actually be able to be accepted. I've asked at a careers office and they said I'd only be able to get the full medical examination and confirmation if I fully start the application process. I'd rather get this done soon because if it turns out I am ineligible I want to apply for a masters instead and it's better to send of postgrad applications sooner rather than later. Basically I want to know could I start the application process now and, if eligible, defer entry to sandhurst till September when I've finished my degree?
Thanks

Speaking as a postgrad: Throw in the masters applications anyway as they don't cost anything. Also, when I did my masters one of my fellow students was going through the joining process, with a masters he all but had his arms ripped off in the army's enthusiasm to get him in the door. So it may be worth your while just giving it an extra year to sort out whatever your issue is and then moving forward.

You could also use the year to build up your portfolio to show what a good all around egg and ruffty, tuffty chap you are. Do some teamy, adventurous stuff that shows you in an adventurous, getting a grip, potential leader light, ie. go do the mountain leaders qualification, join the canoe/sailing club/scuba club, go parachuting, also go orienteering....orienteering is good, you move at speed, read maps and need to make decisions on the move, all of which are useful officers skills.

Good luck.

SantaSpud

War Hero
Hi, you can certainly do this. I did my application (back when I was at uni) for this reason. It’s a long process by the time you do briefing and main board.