is it better to earn commission through ranks or sign straight up as an officer?

Hello,

I wish to be an officer and the problem I am currently facing is that I lack a grade C in GCSE English (I hold a D), I have called up and applied in the hopes of potentially receiving a waiver as I have a degree, but unfortunately I was turned down and that prevents me from joining as an officer straight up.
The dilemma I am faced with is that should I sign up as a regular soldier and earn commission from there and what are the actual chances of that? whereas the other option is to take time out to sit my GCSE English and then apply, keep in mind that GCSE exams are not currently running this year due to the pandemic so the time frame is rather unpredictable?

It may seem like an obvious choice to some but I have heard that it is harder to earn commission from within as opposed to being a civilian. any thoughts/advice will be a huge help.

Cheers.

Definitely a Friday question...

How old are you? what do you do at the moment? how badly do you want to be in the army?

If it was me, and all other things were equal (i.e. I was well within the age ceiling, had a job that wasn't going to run out any time soon and could support myself) I'd be resitting my GCSE and applying then.

I'd be going into the ranks if:

up against the age ceiling already

unable to support myself

happy with the idae of being in the ranks, making a career of it, and not thinking it would be the end of the world if I didn't commission

fundamentally if it's officer in the army or nothing, or if you've got time on your side, get the quals weighed off now

If you've not got age on your side, you're willing to roll the dice on whether you ever commission or not, and you fundamentally want to be in the army, then join now.

Hello,