Is any sort of caution/conviction in the past enough to put off recruiters?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by abcdefghijklmnop, Oct 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am currently in my 2nd year of an Engineering degree, and imagine that I will graduate with at least a 2:1 at the ripe old age of 26. When I was 18 I got into a stupid situation at my work and without going into detail got a police caution for Supplying Class A Drugs, which lasted for five years and has now expired.

Am I on a hiding to nothing to even walk through the Careers Office door? I know I could probably get into the ranks with this hinderance but I believe I would have as good a chance as any at Sandhurst without this damn thing hovering over me.
  2. Supplying class A drugs?

I'll be brutally honest and say I can't see that going to well with the recruiters. But the only way you'll find out is by asking.... pop in, they can only say no.
  3. You may struggle, although there's a fortune to be made if you start banging Chang out in an infantry battalion.
  4. the more I think about it, I can't see how I could ever explain it properly, even if it was only a caution.

oh well....

a job's a job. Maybe the TA will take me, try and sneak in that route....