Is a Muslim only ACF det or CCF in Muslim School OK?

Discussion in 'ACF' started by BuggerAll, May 31, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. BuggerAll

BuggerAll LE Reviewer Book Reviewer

I'm asking the question because the issue has been raised in an other thread and rather than hi-jack that thread I'll start a new 'un.

The suggestion is that there is a county that intends to open an ACF det that would be closed to non-Muslims.

Despite the rumours that Zippy has heard I suspect he has got hold of the wrong end of the stick becasue I am pretty sure it would be illegal to open a det that discriminated on the base of race, creed etc. (I'm not a lawyer so I could be wrong on the law front). It would also be against the values and standards of the British Army which every ACF officer is duty bound to uphold and every adult is contractually bound to uphold.

So I don't think anybody need to worry about an ACF det closed to non-Muslims. However that is not the same as a det being set up in an area with a large Mulsim population and actively recruiting in that area and actively seeking to demonstrate that the ACF is would be 'friendly' to Muslim recruits.

If I wanted to do that (and I would want to) the obvious place to start would be recruiting Muslim CFAV. I don't see anything sinister in that.

The other issue that was raised was a closed ACF det or CCF det in a Muslim school. I am against faith schools - in fact I'm against religion as a whole, but if you have a faith school that is a reality that must be dealt with. I would eb all in favour of faith schools, Muslim or otherwise, having ACF or CCF dets.

Interested to hear what others have to say on the subject.
  2. An ACF det in the high street shouldn't be closed to any part of society. ie Muslims can join, but it shouldn't be a muslim on affair.