Is 29 too old to apply for aircraft tech

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by chrispito, Jun 4, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,

I have been trawling through some of the threads regarding joining up and the REME. I am 29 years old and through circumstance I now have the opportunity to join the army. I have always been interested in the army and like the idea of a career and lifestyle the army can offer.

I am a university graduate with a degree in healthcare (not my first choice but felt the need to go to uni)

Now that the opportunity has come for me to apply I am really considering it applying for aircraft technician and have looked through the army job website and also through arrse. This appeals to me because I can get a good decent trade and the fast track to promotion if I achieve the required standards is also appealing. I have done as much research as possible and will be going to the careers office on Monday to get some further information.

I am posting this on here as I know it can be brutally honest so here goes.

Is 29 a bit too late to apply for aircraft tech?

Will I be able to do a full 22 year service?
  2. I'm 25...And going for VM...But am already a Mechanic..But im sure its up to the age off 33 as long as you meet the required criteria!
  3. You'll be fine.
  4. will I still be able to do the full 22 years service if I join at 29. I understand the intake will not be until this time next year so I'll be 30 by then.
  5. yes
  6. As long as you are enlisted before your 33rd birthday you are fine :)