Irish transfer to BA

Discussion in 'Officers' started by Kilbride_Killer, Jan 2, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm a serving Infantry officer in the Irish Army.

Does anyone know would it be possible for me to 'transfer' to the British Army . i.e. Join as an officer without going through Sandhurst?
  2. Second word's off!
  3. Now that really made me larf, Thanks.
  4. Tidy Dai bach :wink: tidy see 8)
  5. I've never heard of an officer who commissioned from the Curragh and transfered to the British Army. I have, however, heard of an Irish Defence Force officer who attended Sandhurst, returned to the IDF on commissioning as planned, but later decided that he wanted to serve in the British Army and was successful in transferring.

That said, nothing is impossible. There are cases of Australian and NZ officers who have come on long term attachments to the British Army and ended up staying on (I may be wrong, but I think there was a Sqn Ldr in the RTR who had done this). There have also been a few TA officers who have done the TA commissioning course, completed an operational tour and subsequently transfered to the Regular Army (without having to complete the 44 week commissioning course). I believe this is fairly rare lately though, and was dependent on the individuals developing a relationship with the Regiment that would ultimately take them.

It may be worth writing to one of the Home Headquarters of some of the Irish Regiments; (Cavalry - Queen's Royal Hussars or Infantry - Royal Irish / Irish Guards) and seeing about an attachment and working it out from there.

Best of luck.
  6. I know of the guy, he was sent to Sandhurst by the Irish Defence Forces to train (as an overseas cadet) and was subsequently commissioned in the Curragh but I heard later that he then joined the British Army.