Irish Officer in British Army

Discussion in 'Officers' started by irishranger, Jan 8, 2003.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I’m a University Student from the South of Ireland and I want to join the British Army as an Officer. I’ve done the RCB Briefing (Sponsored by R Irish) and am awaiting a date this year for Main Board. What I’d like to know is how Irish officers/Soldiers are perceived in the British Army. I’m not very political but I am a Catholic, and what views I have tend to reflect my religion and upbringing. Obliviously I am in no way a republican or a supporter of the IRA/SF (I’m a serving Irish Army Reservist) but neither do I subscribe to the Ian Paisley school of Unionism.
    What I want to know is whether this would make life uncomfortable for me in the Army or lead to discrimination, etc, etc.

Can any one offer me advice on this?

Thanks!

2. Hello irishranger!

I don't think you'll suffer any particular abuse because you're Catholic (and if you do, it's only likely to be amongst the more pig ignorant of our Protestant brethren). You will undoubtedly suffer some form of abuse as it seems to be the ligua franca of lot of the male species, but then, I think you will understand that better than I!!

May I suggets you PM Purple_Flash (although he hasn't been on for a while, he's in foreign climes getting v cold at the moment). If you like, PM me, I'll contact him and put the two of you in touch. He's from your neck of the woods and is a jolly nice chap as well.

3. "Kicking with the left foot" should not cause any problems - there are plenty of us around,  even the last CDS (I think).  However, religion tends to be well down the batting order in the bar discussions (well, at least in the early coherent part of the evening).  You would probably have more problems with your choice of football team.

4. woopert