Into the J.

Discussion in 'Infantry' started by Chad_Vader, Apr 28, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Apologies if this question has been asked elsewhere,

However i am due to go into the jungle on exercise and as its my first time (in the jungle not on exercise, sadly) i was wondering if any old sweats out there could advise on essentials i should consider taking.

I hate spending loads of cash on extra kit but i expect some will be necessary

Ideas?

2. Try doing a search for Belize - I did last year and got lots of helpful hint.

3. To be honest, you don't really need to buy anything other than a decent canoe bag to put your dry kit in and a pace counter of some sort. You might want to find out what sort of boots you're going to get issued and if it's not the US issue/style jungle boot, get a pair, as they're pretty good.

You should get issued the basic kit and equipment you'll need, which is sufficient for the job, and means you don't add unnecessary weight.

The jungle warfare pamphlet has a good kit list and it's all basic issue stuff. As you'll find out, you don't need a lot of kit to operate in the jungle.

4. You lucky Barsteward I'd love to go to Belize again - most of the issued kit will do the job however try some of the below:

1. Eat plenty of garlic - the mossies hate it
    2. Take a book (or 2) - to read of a night time, you get roughly 12 hours of pitch black darkness in the J where there's no movement. Personally I can't sleep for 12 hours a night and have tried to move in the J at night - trust me it doesn't work!
    3. A decent head torch (LED one) with plenty of batteries
    4. Take a good quantity of para cord for building stuff such as A frames - the old green twine doesn't last long, keep that for ambushes, comms cord etc