Interview Wednesday

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by johnnyVB, Apr 29, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey,

Im new to the site, but I've already discovered loads of information and advice already, which is a great!

Im currently a student and applying to join the TA, I have an interview at my local barracks on Wednesday. I was wondering if anyone could give me a heads up on what to expect or any advice?

Any feedback would be greately appreciated!

Thanks

2. Wear a suit and tie, polish shoes.
    Be polite, brush up on rank structure so you address people correctly.

They will explain what the unit does, what the training consists of, what trades are open to you etc.

Then up to the bar for beer and war stories.

3. Thanks for the advice!

Its been arranged for someone to pick me up from the train station and take me to the barracks for my interview at 8, which i believe is when they hit the parade square. Is it likely for me to be there for the duration of the night?

4. I always say this to people.

Being dressed nicely and being polite has never hurt anyone...one of my mates who applied to another unit always called me an idiot for always turning up in suits for such occasions but in my opinion it is better to have it and not need it than not have it when you need it.

I bought my QM a bitter a few days in and the stories I've got can sustain me for a life time...although don't do this just for your interview.

5. Absolutley...potatoes to peel, toilets to clean, parade square to brush and then clear up the bar.

Don't worry. If they are picking you up from the station then they are bound to look after you.