Interested in becoming Ammo Tech after uni

Discussion in 'RLC' started by DH24, Apr 23, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm currently a student and wanting to do something useful for a good portion of my life went onto the army careers website and found ammo technicians, reading the description I notice this bit

"They should also display a genuine interest in weapons, ammunition and explosives."

Now I expect this to get me some flak but I have to admit I am interested in the mechanical aspects of firearms and the idea of job involving disposing of stuff via explosion is also quite appealing.

Having read a thread a few pages back it seems that once out of the service ammo techs can get very well paying jobs using the skills they have.

My question is how much demand is there for ammo techs currently? Given the current operations in Afghanistan and Iraq I wouldn't be surprised if there were more call for combat troops...

Anyway my main query is in demand for them, what the initial stages of the recruitment process is like/what you're expected to do in your first few days and what ammo techs do on operations?

2. There is a massive demand for Ammo Techs, we are severly undermanned.

There are plenty of threads/info on here. Try a search and much should be answered.

If you are at Uni, why not go Officer? If you are commissioned into the RLC you can still do the ATO's course. The diffierence being that as an Ammo Tech you will spend your whole career in Ammunition, where as an Officer you will soend a couple of years, then go and do something else.

BTW the info you received is a little misleading, we don't really touch weapons per se, but a passing interest can more than help you in later jobs.