Int Corps TA

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Cutsy, Jun 26, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. After a spot of advice on joining 3 MI Bn,

I've been in the TA for years now, Sigs qualified to the hilt, solid experience of tours including Telic in 2003 - good all round egg. Very interested in joining the Int Corps TA but like a lot of people I don't posess the GCSE Maths and English that they seem to require. I honestly believe I could be a success given the technical skills I've gained in the TA and in civvy street where I am a Telecoms Technician. Apart from that I'm a stable sort of character, no convictions, no issues and very thorough. Is there any way this requirement could be waived and has anyone got other general advice about the Int Corps TA?

Cheers

2. Most secondary schools run 'adult education' courses, for a few hours a week you could top up your maths and sit the exams, if you've got the time you might as well take the tests.

3. Ring them and ask, it's the only way to be sure. Your collection of technical certs may well be enough to get a waiver. In any case, you'll be doing a selection weekend where they'll test this sort of thing.

4. As much as it pains me to admit it, I think given some of the window lickers knocking about in the TA the requirements stated by most units are seldom enforced.

5. Cheers for those, any further advice always welcome!!

6. Having spent some time around the turn of the century with Mi3!! as they like to be known - I can assure you this would not have been a problem then mate. I did the Long March in 1999 where the OiC bailed out after 15k and got it on with someone in the back of the mini-bus while his troops walked on and starved.