Insurance - Driving other Car Extension

Discussion in 'Cars, Bikes 'n AFVs' started by garyrjb, Jan 22, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. We all jump in our mates' cars knowing we are insured on our own fully comp insurance right? Wrong! not all companies allow this and are removing it with little or no warning if it does not say you are covered on your certificate then you are not!

I am insured through the AA and my policy is underwritten by ABC insurance I recently emailed them to find out why they will not cover as they do offer it to some people. I am 45 with a clean licence and have never claimed on any car insurance. The answer is it is because I am a soldier. Here is the email reply:

Thank you for your email below regarding your motor insurance policy with us placed by the AA Insurance.

Our criteria for allowing the Driving Other Cars (DOC) extension is made up of a number of factors and is restricted for certain occupations.

At ABC we restrict the DOC extension for all driving related occupations or those where the individual has access to multiple vehicles.

For military personnel, as they have access to multiple vehicles, of different type and specification, and also they can be driven in areas such as air fields or off-road we do not permit the DOC extension on their private car policies.

It is also important to mention that the DOC extension should only be used in emergencies and not a contingency for driving other vehicles without appropriate insurance.

The cover provided is very restricted and if you regularly drive other vehicles you should be added as a named driver to the insurance policy covering that vehicle.

We are unable to provide this cover for you, however if you require DOC on your policy the AA Insurance should have placed you with another of their insurers who can provide this for you.