Insurance + compensation

Discussion in 'Charities and Welfare' started by SC123, Jan 25, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi

I'm making a short documentary about military insurance and compensation. I'm studying a Masters in TV Journalism.

While I've been reading up on this, I've come across some pretty shocking stuff. I don't think many people know that you guys have to take out your own private insurance. My cousin is in the TA and told me that although the MoD has its own insurance scheme, it does 'advise' you guys to take out additional insurance.

I'm trying to find some personnel who would not mind talking to me about this, for example did they get much advise from the MOD, how have they found the cost of the schemes, how did they know what schemes to go for, have they had to claim and how did they find the differences with the AFCS and their private choice, etc

If you or anyone you know would be able to explain your feelings on this very important issue, I'd be very grateful. If you are happy with it/not/indifferent, either way I' be really keen to get some info.

I think this is a really big issue which the general public is very ignorant to.

We are next week interviewing someone in the Royal British Legion who will talk to us about this, and they are working on the Campaign for the Military Covenant. But I'd really like to get the view of personnel.

Your help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks

Susie

2. For some reason you sent me a PM with the same text.