Insidious new e-mail scam

Discussion in 'Finance, Property, Law' started by Dunservin, Mar 17, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I receive lots of scam e-mails which I normally consign to my junk file. However, this is the first I've had claiming to come from someone in the British Army rather than some deposed African leader's relative or lawyer. It is written in unusually good English and looks like it originates in India but who knows? Has anyone else received it and is it worth trying to do anything about it?

-----Original Message-----
    From: MAJOR.JAMES GLENN [mailto:ja_glenn2000@yahoo.co.in]
    Sent: 17 March 2007 10:07
    To: **************
    Subject: Urgent Response Needed

Hello

I am MAJOR.JAMES GLENN, I am a British soldier attached to UN peace keeping force in Iraq, I Am the commanding officer of the First Battalion of the Royal Irish Regiment, as you may Know everyday, there are several cases of insurgents attacks and suicide bombs going on here.

We managed to Move funds belonging to some demised persons who were attacked and killed through insurgent attacks. The total amount is US$25 Million dollars in cash. We want to move this money to you, so That you may keep our share for us untill when we shall come over to meet You.

We will take 70%, my partner and I. You take 30%. No strings attached, Just help us move it out of Iraq, Iraq is a war zone.

We plan on using Diplomatic courier and shipping the money out in two large metallic Boxes, using diplomatic immunity. If you are interested I will send you the full details, my job is to find a good partner that we can trust and that will assist us. Can I trust you? When you receive this letter, kindly send me an e-mail signifying your interest including your most confidential telephone/fax numbers for quick communication also your contact details.