Injured on exercise pay .... Help !

Discussion in 'Army Pay, Claims & JPA' started by ancient, Oct 29, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Back on 14th july I injured myself on a TA exercise and was off work for seven weeks . As an agency employed driver I am not entitled to sick pay but applied for and reeived incapacity benefit of £63 ish a week .
    The army pays me £50 something pounds a day but i have only had 21 days sick pay , amounting to £845 total after tax etc.Should I be reeiving seven days a week pay , or five . My PSAO is as uninterested as ever and told me to wait and see " if anything else turns up " . Nat west have a hit man looking for me .
  2. you should get one days pay for every day you are off sick (including weekends) I did when I shattered my ankle on duty
  3. What were the circumstrances of the injury?
    As far as I am aware you become the Army's responsibility if you are injured while training. In years gone by I have known people break limbs and been paid for weeks until they can return to work. I dont know what the official policy is but it sounds to me like your AO is not throwing straight dice.
    This is a soldier welfare issue and should be addressed up the chain of command, pc then OC.
  4. Ankle injury . Carrying filled sand bags down steep shale slope . Ground gave way , funny popping noise from left ankle . Turned out to be torn achilles tendon . Witnessed by commissioned officer and treated at Dering lines med centre .Does all outsanding money come in one lump (once approved and processed by Glasgow) , or in dribs and drabs , thus justifying my PSAO's suggestion to " wait and see " ?