info about port operator marchwood

Discussion in 'RLC' started by lami, Nov 8, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi, im joining the regular army and gonna do my basic on march 9th. I chose the port operator trade because thats what i studied back in my home country. I am told i will be posted in marchwood southampton.

Can anyone shed some light on what life is like at the base in marchwood, is it a good trade? what are the chances of getting a job on the ports at southampton after my time in the army is up?

when its time for deployments to iraq or afgan, will we be based there or do we just drop stuff off and leave?

do we travel a lot over the world?

I asked the army for dvd's or booklets on the trade but they said a specific one is not available.

thanks for your replys.

2. Goatman

Goatman LE Book Reviewer

Hi Lami,

guessing you are non-UK based.

The Port Operator role sits within 17 Port & Maritime Regiment Royal Logistic Corps.

Bit of an article (from a former 20 Regt RCT officer ) is HERE

Hopefully a serving 17 Regt Port Op will chime in on this thread.
    But, from perspective of a former 165 Regt rope-dope:

> Can anyone shed some light on what life is like at the base in Marchwood.

The base is on the Western shore of Southampton Water. Three pubs in the village,post office chemist etc . Nearest shops ( and closest Railway station) in Totton, about 4miles away.

Nightlife locally limited. Southampton easy to reach by boat (when there's an RFA alongside) , but £25 taxi ride away if no boat service running.

Accommodation recently revamped to one man one room standard and cookhouse given a once over.