Army Rumour Service

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Infantry Platoon officer Reserve Education?

Dok96

Crow
Hello,

I'd would like to join the Infantry Platoon as a officer in the reserve. I'm currently studying full time in Dublin, Ireland. I'm studying Computer Science as Ordinary Degree (level 7), now I didn't do well in my leaving cert (A-levels) so I won't be able to put that forward as my education, but wondering if I can join now, as I'm going for a degree. I understand I'll need to apply for "Education Waiver", is there a potential for me to be accepted, also I am 21 years old and going into 2nd year.

Thank You.

Your post is a bit odd on a number of levels, but to deal with the low hanging fruit:
How do you envision reserve service in the British Army while studying (and being resident?) in the Republic of Ireland?
Are you a British, Irish or Commonwealth citizen?

Read this and then come back if it doesn't answer some proper questions.
How to join - British Army Website

Auldsod

Old-Salt
The British Army will have plenty of fully qualified applicants vying for it's places so it's unlikely that you'll get that education waiver I'd imagine.

I know it's possibly something that you probably hope you wouldn't have to deal with again but would you consider repeating the leaving cert subjects where you had an issue? I've completed the leaving cert myself and I know that people can often have trouble with English or Maths - repeating would show a bit of determination or purpose.

Also, as an aside - the Irish Defence Forces so not give educational waivers for officer cadetships.

The British Army will have plenty of fully qualified applicants vying for it's places