Imber Village - Pre 1980s

Just in by email is a request for anyone who remembers Imber Village back in the day....

I am an Assistant Producer working on a programme for Channel 5 on abandoned historical buildings. One of the places we are focusing on is the 'ghost' town of Imber Village and the Salisbury Plain and its history. I am trying to track down any soldiers or military personnel who might have trained at Imber Village in the '80s or earlier or later. I wonder if you could help and if it would be possible to post a call for information or start a topic through your members or site or if you know anyone who might have trained at Imber and or have memories of it.

Any leads would be much appreciated.
We are filming next week and we are very keen to find people to tell us about their experience of the site and training there.

Thanks,

Paola Desiderio
Assistant Producer

napier

LE
Kit Reviewer
Was there as a cadet in 84 or so - for the first time..

oldbaldy

LE
I trained there 1967. Remember very little of it except no nurses arrived.

AlienFTM

MIA
Book Reviewer
I trained around Imber in 76-7. Recce troops in Scorpions weren't allowed to get too close. I have only a couple of vague images in my head.

Unfortunately in 77 they reopened the range around the old village subsumed by Lulworth Ranges, whose name escapes me. Wait while Google is my friend. Tyneham. Google is my friend. We were also the first squadron to use Tyneham Range for a long time. Its possible these images in my head conflate Imber and Tyneham.

Auld-Yin

ADC
Kit Reviewer
Book Reviewer
Reviews Editor
Spent four years in Tidworth in the early 1970s and never did any training on Salisbury Plain. The Bn preferred to go to Stanford, Sennybridge rather than use the trg area on their back yard.