Im a teacher and thinking of joining the TA... few questions

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by lancs_lad, Jan 19, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. First off I would like to say hi to you all and thanks for reading.

I am 28 and a secondary school teacher. I have read a few posts on here and Im getting the feeling that being a teacher doesnt workout to well with the TA. My main concern is the 2 week annual camp not coinciding with my summer 6 weeks off or 2 weeks at Easter. Anyone shed some light on this?

If it helps I am thinking of joining the Duke of Lancasters at the Lancaster branch. Anyone on here from there?

Also would you advise me talking to my head first before joining? Anyone ever been allowed time off during term time for the TA? What are the unions stance on it? Im with the NUT.

Thanks in advance.
  2. I have a friend who is a teacher and she coped very well with camps and weekends.

Have a chat with your unit that you wish to join and when you have all the facts and your questions answered then chat to your head. sometimes you'll be surprised about how forthcoming they are. some units will even chat to your head afterwards to answer any of his queries.

Units 2 weeks camps can move each year and if you attend triaing courses throughout the year at a time when you can fit them in the holidays then that counts as a course in lieu of camp and you can still claim your bounty providing the course was 9 days or more.

Again, you need to go to your local unit and talk to them about this. if you struggle with the commitment maybe you could join a national unit. these have less days require to fullfill your commitment. 19 days only i believe.

but you'll never know if you do not ask. you'll get some good advice on here from other people but your own research is the most valuable