illness and impact on future in ta

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by ab2k, Apr 11, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. i am relatively new to the ta. i passed my medical and attested in 2004. since then, however, i have been unwell for several months and have been unable to particiapte in any training. i am seeking treatment and should make a full recovery and hope to pursue a full active career with the ta. the illness i have would almost certainly have precluded my entry to the ta had i had it before attestation. my question is (and i realise that my not giving detailed info makes it difficult for a straight answer-please understand that it is a somewhat delicate issue and i am worried about giving too much away), am i liable to be thrown out now that i have had an illness which is prohibitive of entry to the army?
  2. msr

msr LE

Difficult to say exactly, but the illnesses which prevent you joining are generally uncurable.

3. OldSnowy

OldSnowy LE Moderator Book Reviewer

I wouldn't think that you would be thrown out, once you are fit again. Once you are in, you're in. Loyalty goes both ways :)

BTW, during my time involved with recruitng, the main areas which, while not oalways being 'visilbe' virtually automatically preclude joining were:

Bad Knees

Pretty much everything else was/is negotiable :D
  4. thanks for that. perhaps i should give a little more detail. i was diagnosed with a form of depression in february. it is obviously something that can be cured and i believe in a short while i shall be 100% again.