If I joined the TA but didn’t complete phase one training then do I have to state that I was in the military on police checks or immigration docs

I’m 30 now. When I was 18 I wanted to be in the TA. I embarrassingly didn’t even complete phase one training. I was about to leave but my unit disbanded just before I could and I got given the option to either move units or an honourable discharge if I remember rightly. I chose the discharge.
Now fast forward I’m trying to move to Canada. On my application It’s asking if I served in the armed forces. I’m assuming that because I got issued an army number then I technically was classed as being in the armed forces is that right? Or do you have to complete training?

For one of my police certificates I stated yes. Not sure if that would affect my application. If the two conflict.

I’d appreciate any help/information. If I get this wrong then I might not get my residency in Canada.

Teeblerone

War Hero
(I'm not an expert) stick with what you've already put on the police certificate, they might very well crosscheck.
Or speak to the Canadian Embassy/Consulate, obviously.
Good luck!

Generally that question is to ensure you aren’t a deserter but also to have an eye on who is coming into the country with military training (Terrorism, spying etc).

be truthful
They just want to know that you aren’t still a member

Arte_et_Marte

ADC
I’m 30 now. When I was 18 I wanted to be in the TA. I embarrassingly didn’t even complete phase one training. I was about to leave but my unit disbanded just before I could and I got given the option to either move units or an honourable discharge if I remember rightly. I chose the discharge.
Now fast forward I’m trying to move to Canada. On my application It’s asking if I served in the armed forces. I’m assuming that because I got issued an army number then I technically was classed as being in the armed forces is that right? Or do you have to complete training?