i2 Analyst's Notebook/Sentinel Visualizer for a Human Rights Charity?

Discussion in 'Int Corps' started by HumanRightsNGO, Mar 7, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,
    I'm working with a new human rights NGO that hoovers up a lot of information about events, victims, perpetrators etc in a number of unpleasent countries. Most NGO's tend not to manage this information very well so we are looking to do better by looking at how people in policing/intelligence roles do this.

We've come across i2 Analyst's Notebook and the Sentinel Visualizer products and it seems perfect for what we do but it's eye-wateringly expensive for a charity. Can anyone recommend anything that is opensource or alot cheaper that fullfills many of the same functions?

Many regards.

2. I'm no expert but, you could look into getting secure servers and run a relatively powerful SQL/PHP based database. Search around the net for server side open source databases. I'll have a look myself and PM you. I dont know if it'll do the job you want but it may be worth a look.

My force uses an intelligence database that is hugely complicated to use quickly and efficiently purely because of the amount of criteria that is used and the way by which information is stored.

You should think how'd you want to view the information you have and you want to be able to search through it all. Good luck!

3. Hi Human

Your thread is of particular interest, as I work for i2 as part of their defence team. Would you like to PM with some further details and name of the NGO

Nick

4. another lurker nudged out into the open! :)

5. How about Octave, the Open Source version of Matlab?

Octave

6. Not sure it does quite the same thing. I2 (and equivalents) are all about recording and visualising connections between individual data elements, rather than doing calculations.