I wish I was an Apache Pilot

Excellent shooting. Nice to see the dog had more sense than them as well!

better than being a Lynx pilot - he'll have had to go tech after contact and spend a few days in a 5 star hotel!

Having passed the basic aptitude test for the US Army with flying colours, my son (ex ACC !) was given a choice of prime trades and chose helicopter pilot. Turned out he couldn't do that because he only had a green card and wasn't a citizen. But he could be a crew chief on Apaches - which he did. The Master Sergeant at the recruiting office was baffled by his question 'If as an alien and a pilot you think I might sabotage an Apache, won't it be much easier and safer to do so as i/c maintenance'. Military logic doncha just love it ? He also says that basic as an ACC apprentice was tougher than US Army basic AND he got three medals without going anywhere near a war zone.

Having passed the basic aptitude test for the US Army with flying colours, my son (ex ACC !) was given a choice of prime trades and chose helicopter pilot. Turned out he couldn't do that because he only had a green card and wasn't a citizen. But he could be a crew chief on Apaches - which he did. The Master Sergeant at the recruiting office was baffled by his question 'If as an alien and a pilot you think I might sabotage an Apache, won't it be much easier and safer to do so as i/c maintenance'. Military logic doncha just love it ? He also says that basic as an ACC apprentice was tougher than US Army basic
Its true, we sent a Kid to Air Assault school and he was honor graduate. less than a Month later he was refused re-enlistment as he was an Irish Citizen still. Now the US Army knew he wasn't going to be able to re-up but sent him to a school anyway with all its associated costs in TDY pay. As for Basic it is just that one low standard for Initial entry training.

AND he got three medals without going anywhere near a war zone.
Queens jubilee medals anyone?

Rod924

LE
Kit Reviewer