I want to join but my wife says NO

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey Everyone! I am new to this type of thing but i need some advice. I have tried 3 other times to join the military. 1st time when i was 18 my dad said, NO! go to college. so i did. 2nd time i was rejected because i had by knees and they didn't need people to join at the time. 3rd time was last year, i was all good and then i pulled a hernia and had surgery.

so i've talked with a recruiter and they said i'm good to go health wise BUT my wife says NO! She grew up without a Dad and Mom and now we have a 2 year old. She just wants a NORMAL life. I had a mom and dad and had a normal life..... i want something different and i want to go out and do big things and have better opportunity! I have 2 brothers in the Active Army. I want to go to the Guard or Reserves... She is afraid that i'll always be gone and will get deployed. I'm all good on the deployed side. If i take the college loan from the military would that exempt me from being deployed at least the first 3 years? that way she gets used to the whole military thing and then once that is done if i get deployed its not that big of a deal? how do i "convince" her that it will better Me as a person and in return will better our family and future?

Take a look back at the first time - your Dad said no, but you were 18 so legally whatever your Dad said had exactly no influence whatsoever on the outcome. You could have said 'sorry/f**k you, Dad but I'm an adult, I'll do what I like'. Seems like you'll never be a 'hasbeen' just a 'neverwas'

Yeah, you're on a British site here mate. I can tell you all about what sort of things your wife would have to deal with as a spouse to a British serviceman, but despite the overlap there will be marked differences rendering most advice obsolete. Sorry bud!