I need a new MMO

Discussion in 'Gaming and Software' started by BrunoNoMedals, Oct 8, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. BrunoNoMedals

BrunoNoMedals LE Reviewer

I'm finally getting t'Internet connected at the new place, and upgrading my PC, and I've decided it's time I got into a new MMO.

I started playing Asheron's Call in about 2000, giving up in 2003 when I decided it was time to concentrate on Uni. Since then I've had a crack at a couple more cheap/free ones (Runescape, some random Korean thing, Dungeons & Dragons Online Beta) but never really got into them. I got Lord Of The Rings Online last year and enjoyed it, but after moving post and house, and losing my connection for a few months, they cancelled my account and deleted my characters. Twunts. Now I can't be bothered going back. And I refuse to touch WoW.

I've been waiting on Warhammer Online to come out but, now it's released, I'm not convinced. It looks a bit too dumbed down, with little class variety. The only classes that appeal to me are for races that don't, and so on.

I like MMOs which have an open environment with a good community, plenty of PvE and soloing opportunities, and a good, complex crafting system. WHO (WAR, technically) is, by many accounts, full of cnuts, totally PvP/RvR, and with little crafting.

While I'm deciding, I'm thinking of trying out Wurm Online. If it's any good I may be tempted to put some cash into it, but I'm not convinced it will be. I've also heard that Darkfall is coming out soon, and that looks pretty special.

My options currently are:

1. Risk WAR, see what it's like.
    2. Wait for Darkfall.
    3. Crack on with Wurm.
    4. Go back to LOTRO.
    5. See if AC is still going strong.

I'm looking for recommendations for other games, though. Please don't mention WoW or Eve!
  2. Not got a girlfriend then?
  3. Schaden